Hello World

My name is Dayna, 20 years of age and a student at the University of Brighton, studying Sport & Exercise Science.

 

Now, before we get started: Why Calm It Kermit?! Throughout my 19 years of life on earth, I’ve found this to be my go to saying on more than one occasion. So, whilst I was racking my brains trying to think of that catchy name for my blog, I just thought – “Why not?!.”

I’m a lover of quotes; photography; cinematography – I love the meaning these things can have. I often spend countless hours on pinterest scouring for motivation or inspirational quotes. More often than not, these quotes are somewhat related to Alice in Wonderland; I’m quite the fan. I also spend some of my time photographing the beauty this world has to offer, and on the odd occasion even videoing adventures that I may take.

“Begin at the beginning,” the King said, very gravely, “and go on till you come to the end: then stop.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Now, in 2015 I was completing my degree at college and I had my application accepted to attend University that Fall. However, the greatest accomplishment of my life thus far, the dream I had all my life had finally come true: I moved to America. I can remember posting a status saying that I was going to move to America when I was 18/19 years old (posted when I was 13/14 years old) – and for that dream to become a reality was insane! To put this into context, I played football in college and my college sent footage of me playing to schools/colleges in the states; several came back with scholarships, and after much deliberation I accepted one. On July 22nd 2015, I left my small town in the United Kingdom to start my new life in Walbridge, Ohio, USA – it was near Toledo, if that makes it any clearer?! I attended Owen’s Community college and played for their Women’s Soccer team. During my time in America, I did sustain several injuries unfortunately; however, the games I did manage to play, I thoroughly enjoyed!! I met so many life long friends, and made some amazing; unforgettable memories. Unfortunately, after my first year in America the college had run out of funding and they had to make some cutbacks: the women’s soccer program being one. Therefore, I had to cut my time in the states short, return home and re-apply for University (because this daft bat decided to cancel her University application, rather than defer it.) The memories I made during my time in the states will always be cherished, and I’m so blessed to have had such an amazing opportunity.

Now, a year on (from the date of writing this blog) I feel as though I haven’t accomplished, seen or done much. Whilst out in America I was exploring all the time, meeting new people, making amazing memories and learning. However, coming back home I’ve dived straight back into work, and that has been my life since. But I’m far from a 9-5, or 10-6 in my case, kind of girl. I live to explore, enjoy life and learn! Which is why I decided to create this blog. I’ve had a blog in the past but I wasn’t ready to create. However, with this blog, I want to record the things I’ve done and the places I’ve visited, and to just give my take on this thing called “life”. So, if you’re ready to explore this world with me, then strap in because this is the one roller coaster ride I will enjoy!!

– – Dayna

Leave a Reply

