Everything happens for a reason

Everything happens when it needs to happen; everyone is always where they need to be. You will never miss out on what is meant for you, even if it has to come to you in a roundabout way.” – Iyanla Vanzant

All my life I have been a big believer in fate and that everything happens for a reason. No matter how small the thing is – having to stop to tie your shoe lace, being told no by a college or a job, that relationship that broke your heart: whatever it is, there’s a reason. Steve Jobs delivered an address at the Stanfrod Commencemnt in 2005. In this speech he spoke of three stories from his life. His first story included a saying about dots:

You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backward. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life. – Steve Jobs (2005)

The lead up to this quote, Steve Jobs was explaining how he had dropped out of college and “decided to trust that it would all work out OK.” – however, he had no real place to sleep and “returned Coke bottles for the 5c deposits to buy food with…” By dropping out, Steve Jobs took part in Calligraphy classes at the college. At the time of taking these classes, Calligraphy had not practicality in his life; until 10 years later when he designed the first ever Macintosh Computer – “If I had never dropped in on that single course in college, that Mac would have never had multiple typefaces…If I had never dropped out, I would have never dropped in on this calligraphy class…”

This quote from Steve Jobs is a quote I live by. When I was 15/16 years old, I was trying to find the college I would attend; however, I wanted to play for a football academy. So my Mum and Dad would drive me where I needed to go for football trials. I applied for Lincoln Ladies reserves: I was told no. I applied for the Alex Scott Academy: on the way to the trials we got lost, by the time we reached our destination: it was too late. I trialed for Tottenham Hotspur Ladies; who were affiliated with Barnet and Southgate college. The trials went okay-ish, and we were on route to the interview, when 2 hours out, our car tyre blew up. In the 16 years I had been driving with my Dad, this was the first time that had ever happened! As a result of all this, I caved in and decided to attend The College of West Anglia, and I played for their Girls Football Academy. They had some successful Scholarship students in the past, but I honestly didn’t think that a girl like me would ever be offered one. I played football and applied for University in the UK; whilst also applying for a scholarship in America – not once thinking I’d get it. However, in February 2015, I received an email from Kenny Hewitt (my Soccer coach at Owens Community College), who offered me a full scholarship to play in Ohio. When I was 15 years old, I had a dream of earning a Scholarship; when I was 17 Years old, I received a Scholarship.

During that time of looking for a football academy to play for, and being told No or having our car tyre blow up – looking forward I didn’t think I would ever get it. But sitting here today writing this blog; looking back and counting the dots that lead up to me moving to America – I can see that it all happened for a reason. If our car tyre didn’t blow up and I attended the interview, I may never have moved to America. Just like, had Steve Jobs never dropped out of College; the Mac may not be what it is today, or it may have never been made.

You can’t count the dots looking forward, you can only count them looking back. Everything in life happens for a reason, and as they say: suffer now and live the rest of your life a champion. It may not happen today or tomorrow – it may take years. But you have two choices; work hard to reach your dream or watch others live theirs.

All information/quotes found on Steve Jobs can be found here – as well as the full commencement address: http://news.stanford.edu/2005/06/14/jobs-061505/

2 thoughts on “Everything happens for a reason

  1. Great post! Everything happens for a reason even though we don’t always know what that reason is. We just need to have faith that it’ll all work out in the end. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

